• Fri. Jul 19th, 2024

School reopening: Ondo Govt gives 6 conditions

Oct 14, 2020

Notice: Trying to get property 'post_excerpt' of non-object in /home/ojuashac/public_html/wp-content/themes/newses/single.php on line 83

By: Ade Adeleke

Governor of Ondo State, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu SAN, has approved that all schools in Ondo State can resume full academic activities by Monday, 19th October, 2020.

He further directed that all schools must abide by the COVID-19 preventive guidelines released by the Ondo State Inter-ministerial Committee to ensure the safety of staff and students.

Speaking to newsmen at a press conference, today in Akure, the Chairman of the Inter-ministerial Committee on Coronavirus (COVID-19) who is also the Vice Chancellor, University of Medical Sciences, Ondo, Prof. Adesegun Fatusi, hinted that the Governor has also instructed the Ondo State Inter-ministerial Committee to conduct periodic monitoring visit to schools and any school found not to be complying with the COVID-19 guidelines should be shut.

He noted that schools reopening must adhere to the following guidelines:

a. Notices with the message, “No Mask, No Entry, must be boldly displayed at the entrance of the school and at strategic spots throughout the school compound;

b. Infrared thermometer must be made available and used to assess the temperature of each staff, student, and visitors at the point of entry into the schools;

c. Handwashing devices with adequate and constant source of running water and soaps must be available in schools and all individuals must wash their hands when entering the schools. Alternatively, hand sanitisers with alcohol content of not less than 70% may be used;

d. All individuals with high temperature or who show any form of illness must not be allowed into the school: written guidelines must be available in that regard;

e. Seats in the classrooms and staff rooms must be separated with a minimum space of two metres or 6 feet (two arm’s length); and

f. A “COVID-19 monitoring team” must be established in each school with the responsibility for monitoring and ensuring full compliance of all staff and students with the above-stated guidelines.

Corroborating his view, the Ag. Commissioner for Health in the State, Hon. Jibayo Adeyeye, stated that the State now has 12 newly confirmed cases from Akoko South East (4 cases), Akure South (3 cases), Ileoluji-Okeigbo (1 case), Ose (1 case), Owo (1case), Idanre (1 case) and Okitipupa (1 case) local government areas, noting that seven (7) confirmed cases were symptomatic, while two (2) of the newly confirmed cases were healthcare workers from Akoko South East local government area.

Adeyeye added the State has a total of 1651 confirmed COVID-19 cases; with 25 active confirmed cases and 36 deaths.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *