• Sun. Jul 21st, 2024

INEC declares PDP winner of Ondo South Senatorial Poll

Mar 10, 2019

Notice: Trying to get property 'post_excerpt' of non-object in /home/ojuashac/public_html/wp-content/themes/newses/single.php on line 83

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has finally declared the Senatorial Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party ( PDP ) Nicholas Tofowomo as the winner of Ondo South Senatorial Election.

Tofowomo was declared winner of the election after scoring 81, 892 votes to defeat his closest rival, the incumbent Senator, Yele Omogunwa of the ruling APC who polled 55, 610 votes.

The result was announced by INEC Returning Officer for the district, Prof Kayode Onifade after the Senatorial supplementary election held on Saturday was concluded.

It would be recalled that penultimate Saturday, INEC declared the Ondo South Senatorial election inconclusive based on the margin of win by the candidate of the PDP which was less than 28, 300 of the total number of registered voters in the affected units where elections did not hold or cancelled.

Tofowomo had initially polled 79, 036 to defeat Incumbent Senator Yele Omogunwa who scored 51, 993, with vote margins of 27, 036 when the election was declared inconclusive.

Tofowomo who was the former Commissioner for Transport in the state hailed the Ondo South residents for his election, describing his victory as God-ordained.

He promised to visit his closest rival, Omogunwa and other senatorial contestants to seek their support in building a productive Ondo South District.

According to him, “I promise to be a good representative to all our people in Ondo South regardless of their political affiliations, tribes, or religious sentiments.

PDP now has two Senators-elect,Tofowomo(South District) and Ayo Akinyelure(Central) while APC’s Prof Ajayi Boroffice represents the North Senatorial District.

Visit website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *